h1

Summer Before Grad School

August 1, 2009

Welcome to my life!

This is the first day of the August, and rightly so, it is my first blog post. And as a first blog post, I guess I should introduce who I am, and what I hope to accomplish. I am an overly enthusiastic wannabe scientist pursuing graduate school because it is the next logical step in my life. After suffering 4 horrible years in a college major I did not enjoy, in a field I did not enjoy, at a school I … enjoyed … I am now hoping to correct all of my mistakes by going to graduate school in my real passion: biology. While this makes logical sense to most, you have to understand, my former major and career path could have gotten me a fantastic, high paying job of my choosing in a suffering economy (I know this because that’s what all my friends are doing). But instead, I’ve chosen biology.

But I have a few goals with this blog I feel I should share:

1. I want to share with the world the crazy adventures or lack there of that the average graduate student in biology undergoes. It’s a tough career choice only the brave and foolish could decide on. Our story demands to be heard.

2. I want people to see how a biologist (at least, this biologist) views the world. If your career is staked not on learning how the body works and what afflicts it like a person in medicine but rather how the cells in your body work and interact and function and allow you to even have a body of interworking cells, your perspective becomes quite different. Also, people asking me for medical advice gets really freaking old (I seriously, don’t know what that bump is on your butt, in my opinion, it’s cancer).

3. I want to teach you a little biology. Biology education has long been considered the “easy” science among scientists and the “memorization” subject among high school students. Somewhere along the way we considered having kids memorize a bunch of bone names and stages in the cell cycle as teaching science. But what this lacks is the magic that is biology. How we come into existence is much more interesting than memorizing a bunch of facts. We need to instill in our children a fascination for biology. Current education does not do that. Biology is not the “easy” science; just ask any sixth year Ph.D. student, if you know one. It is a lot of hard work, and the work people are doing is extremely fascinating; we just need to tell the stories they discover in a better way.

So that’s why I am here. This is the summer before I start. In 2 weeks I will be moving into my new apartment, to begin the craziest adventure of my life. As I work long hours of the day with my right hand pipetteing clear fluids into tiny tubes hoping to god, or shall I say Darwin (no that’s horribly cheeky), that I have some small amount of DNA or protein, and my left hand holding an insane number of journals to read and study, all while sipping from a feed back half cooked ramen noodles just for sustenance and not flavour because my taste buds have de-differentiated back into stem cells on my tongue to be both mean and ironic, I hope I paint you a picture of what it means to be in…

GRAD SCHOOL

One comment

  1. Sooo…I have this bump in my butt that you probably should check for me…hahaha.



Leave a Reply

